I stopped believin’ after about 30 minutes.

Photo strip from JourneySooo… I mentioned having won tickets to see Journey in concert, right? At any rate, the show was last Saturday at Mud Island Amphitheater. And while I’d like to say it was a sweet show and I loved every minute of it, that would be a lie. What I did see was just fine, of course, but that was very little. We arrived just before 7 o’clock, when the doors opened. Now, that was foolish on its own because we could’ve been sipping milkshakes at Café Eclectic instead of overpriced bottled water in the midst of a growing crowd (and resultant rising temperature). But there we sat, past the 8 o’clock showtime,  and another full hour until 9, when things finally got going. By that time, it was hot and muggy. The crowd was HUGE because the show had sold out. And while the Memphis Flyer definitely hooked us up with awesome seats, I got to feeling claustrophobic and panicky not long after the opening number.

It wasn’t until the girl next to me lit a rather rank cigarette that I started getting lightheaded and ill. I sat down for a few minutes and tried to block out the screaming 8-year-olds behind us (How are children that young even AWARE of Journey? I have no idea.) the cigarette stench, the blaring music, the flashing/blinding lights, the heat and the crowd, but it didn’t work. Fortunately, Bryan is a saint (and also not a huge Journey fan) so we left after about a half-hour of the show. I’d never felt such relief as when I reached the top of those amphitheater steps and left the screaming crowd behind.

We walked back across the pedestrian walkway from the island to the mainland and stopped by the Mississippi River exhibit at the museum. We walked along a good bit of that and I climbed onto the display that contained the floodplain and Michigan so I could point out the approximate location of my hometown, though the mitten was stretched uncomfortably on the x-axis.

We rounded out the night with milkshakes from Steak ‘N Shake, which really was way better than bobbing my head to the sad remnants of a long-dead band. Not to say they weren’t doing their darnedest to bring back the sound, but it just didn’t happen, at least not in my book.

The rest of the weekend consisted of being lazy, playing Rock Band, creating my D&D character (Elluvia the Elf Ranger! :D) for upcoming games, buying and reading some of a travel book on Ireland and petting a tiny black kitty. Even when they’re pretty low key, I wish weekends would never end…

View from the walkway to Mud Island

View from the walkway to Mud Island

Journey on stage

Journey on stage

Leave a comment

Filed under fun, memphis, music, recap

Leave a Reply

