makin’ a way in the world today

otherlands

It’s taking everything I’ve got and then some. BUT I am taking a break tonight and hanging out in Midtown. (Although I realized about a minute ago that my time is limited at this particular locale, Otherlands Coffee Bar, which closes in 35 minutes. Oops.)

I haven’t written lately because my brain’s been far too scattered to focus on a single topic for more than 5 minutes. And considering my tendency to write short novels in my blog, this distracted state and blogging do not mesh.

I often have thoughts I don’t write down. Thoughts that go slightly longer than the 140 characters allowed in twitter, but not really all that interesting. I really should record them, if for no other reason than I can avoid kicking myself later for forgetting about them. But I haven’t.

I’m currently reading a book called Art & Fear, by David Bayles and Ted Orland. It’s about how fear impedes artmaking and how to keep it from doing so. I’ve not considered myself an artist since before middle-school art class, when I was told not to try to duplicate a certain piece because I didn’t have the skill. I know writing is an art form, too, but I don’t consider myself an artist there either. In reading this book, though, I realize artmaking is many things, but the lessons can be applied to life in general as well. Not being afraid to stand up for yourself and what you believe. Not backing down when challenged or fearful. Not giving up. I’m thinking this might become a guide to life rather than just a guide to art. I’ll let you know how it pans out.

I’ve been extremely busy at work and feeling exhausted by 9:30 p.m. every night, so you can see the kind of track my train is on right now. I work a lot longer than a should, go to bed later than is necessary and feel like a ball of agony much of the time. However, arm pain has kept me from working out this week. Arm pain and e-newsletters. They have it out for me, for sure.

I still don’t feel like writing, so this ends here. I hope you’re all well. I should just get a video camera and vlog my life — maybe then I’d have things to say.

1 Comment

Filed under blogging, books, memphis, thoughts

One response to “makin’ a way in the world today

  1. Just write. Even if you don’t feel like it. Even if you don’t have anything to say. The act is art in itself.

    And you’re right. Giving up is not part of the plan.

    Best of luck to you. You have sisters in blogging. I’m one of ’em.

    (I can’t believe that I came to this post for one thing, only to find out that we’ve both discussed Sheridans on our blogs…LOL)

Leave a Reply

