all in favor, say “aye”

Because I’d prefer you not raise your hand if it’s creepy like this:

In all seriousness, though, this would be a great conversation piece and accent in pretty much any bathroom. Especially when you keep them all together like that, a sort of multiracial nursery… without the rest of the baby parts. Now that I put it that way, I’m back to the creepy verdict. [available on Etsy]

It’s almost May 1, which for Memphis means the Beale Street Music Festival downtown. The All-American Rejects, Steve Miller Band, Katy Perry, Al Green, Shinedown, Elvis Costello, James Taylor, Fall Out Boy, et al. Apparently several of the larger acts will be splitting their weekend between Memphis and Birmingham’s 2009 Schaeffer Eye Center Crawfish Boil (holy crap, that took me forever to find on Google—no combination of “alabama,” “birmingham,” “music” and “festival” took me to the right place). I missed all the Memphis in May malarkey last year by starting my new job on June 1, so this is my chance to hit the pavement and the parks and experience my (sort of) new city. Will I do it? Is it worth $30/day or $64/3 days (if I order by this evening)? Will it be significantly less enjoyable alone?

I think I may go attempt to use my 25%-off savings at Macy’s tonight to see how much money I have left for a weekend concert treat.

3 Comments

Filed under fun, memphis, music, plans, shopping, web

3 responses to “all in favor, say “aye”

  1. That picture is crazy creepy. I love it and I love Etsy.

    I’m not crazy about seeing any of the acts this year, except maybe the Reverend, but it’s always pretty prime people-watching, and who doesn’t love getting drunk and eating crap food out in the park all day?

    Maybe I’ll see you there!

  2. Jana

    Those hands are creepy and yet totally awesome!! I would soo buy them, except they’re already sold out. Admit it Em, you totally got them all and are now decorating your whole apartment with tiny, tiny hands, ugh…

  3. Mandy

    I think that if this concert thing is something you’ve been looking forward to for an entire year, $64 is okay. You could even return some clothes you haven’t worn yet to pay for it. =P

Leave a Reply

