I kept my beer tear free

After some indecision at work today, the aforementioned coworker and I decided to go to trivia at the bar instead of the Grizzlies game. We did glance up from time to time to see the score, and, now that I look it up, I see the Grizz did beat the Wiz (haha), but oh well. We needed to boost our team’s record before the semi-finals!

Background: For just over a month, some of my coworkers and I have been participating in bar trivia. (When I say “some” coworkers, what I mean is that the first week, we had four people total. Then I missed two weeks with pneumonia. Then went once with three total and twice now with just the one other guy. We are die hard.) Memphis has a citywide trivia league that parallels those of Birmingham (Dennis participates there) Knoxville, Chattanooga, etc. They hold it every night of the week at bars all over. This particular coworker also participates with another team on Thursday nights in Midtown. The emcees aren’t the same, nor are the questions, so you could compete every night if you so desired. The topics are varied (though tonight’s seemed to focus a bit too much on royalty and presidents for my liking) as are the difficulty levels of the questions.

Now, last time we went the gruesome-twosome route, we kicked ass. We ended up in a strong second place behind only the team that cheats relentlessly by looking up answers on their smartphones. Lame. It’s bar trivia, people. Grow some balls and try to get them right on your own. I? I know almost nothing. And yet we continue to place in the top three every time with fewer people and no cheating. Funny how that works.

Anyway, between this other guy and me, we pulled out some crazy right (and wrong) answers last time. And tonight was no different, though we didn’t do quite as well and ended up in third. However, “Spinal Tappin’ That Ass” is a worthy opposing team and they took a solid second place, something with which we were fine. But “Boats ‘N Hoes”? They need to fall off a cliff. Again, they ended up with an inexplicably strong lead, right at the end. I hate cheaters. BUT we got some really random answers right, some stupid ones wrong, etc. It was a great time as always.

After trivia ended and we collected our $10 gift certificate for the third-place finish, the coworker and I discussed life, love, psychology—things we’ve discussed before and I’ve been mulling over for the past several weeks. I probably should just stop mulling before I drive myself crazy about it. But I love getting other perspectives and hearing about people’s lives. What does it mean to him to be married? What’s it like having been together 10 years? How do you maintain a strong level of trust for the other person? What does love mean to you? Fascinating.

Sadly, this intense discussion meant I missed Dennis’ goodnight call, so I’m bummed about that. But I’ll be packing tomorrow night in preparation for my Mighty Return to Birmingham on Friday!! Even though he was just here, I’m definitely looking forward to seeing him again. We will be rooting for opposing teams in one of Saturday’s games, so that should be highly entertaining. And we have a lot of real-estate browsing to do, since he’s in the market for a house. I’m excited. =)

And did I mention? Our trivia team’s name is “Bigger, Badder, Bushier.” You can decide if, in proper bar-trivia fashion, that name is supposed to be a political reference, a sexual reference, or both. Goodnight!

2 Comments

Filed under fun, happiness, lessons, love, recap, thoughts

2 responses to “I kept my beer tear free

  1. Mandy

    That first paragraph with your team spirit made me throw up in Carla’s mouth. I hope she didn’t notice. =P

  2. e. autumne

    In case it was confusing, the last line was about trivia, not basketball. Trivia semi-finals.

Leave a Reply

