extra point

While in the shower just now, I figured out why this issue of romantic love is so burdensome. It was common knowledge to everyone else, I’m sure, but sometimes I’m slow on the uptake.

Loving friends and family is easy because (usually) you don’t have to stop loving one to love another. You don’t have to choose between mom and dad, or between friend 1 and friend 2. (I suppose there are circumstances that call for exclusivity, but in those cases, I’d say it gets as complicated and frustrating as romantic love.)

So I am constantly aware that I must choose one person. He must be the right person and fulfill all my needs for all time. And, even more challenging, I must fulfill all his needs for all time. If you really put some time into pondering that, you’d gladly join me curled up in the corner in the fetal position. Or you’d just laugh it off and let it go, tossing the keys to fate or God or the universe and climbing into the passenger seat of Forever.

I need to work on that.

Leave a comment

Filed under love, thoughts

Leave a Reply

