blasts from the past

I laughed till I couldn’t breathe last night. While helping my mom clean out closet #3, we found some really great suits: bright colors, shoulder pads, matching belts – you name it. One had a sheath dress with it instead of a skirt or pants, so my sister decided to try it on. The set was a lavender color, but the dress itself didn’t look too bad. Then we insisted that she put on the jacket with it. At first, she resisted. But then she walked out wearing this lavender blazer that went well below her hips, probably upper thigh? She’s not tall like I am, so it looked absolutely ridiculous for her to be wearing such a long jacket. I couldn’t stop laughing.

Then we found some clothes that belonged to a previous ex of my mom’s. There was a flannel-lined denim work shirt, which my bro-in-law (BIL) did end up taking with him. But he also tried on some blue Dockers that were his size. Problem? PLEATED. He kept putting his hands in his pockets and punching them outward, emphasizing the pleats. My sister said, “Quit it – you’re grossing me out!” Again, couldn’t stop laughing. I was leaning against the wall and couldn’t breathe. It was amazing.

Prior to the return to the ’80s, we played some games with my niece while my BIL finished painting the window trim. We played this strange Dutch card game that was actually pretty fun for the adults, but my niece didn’t really enjoy it. And we didn’t make up too much ground with my joining her team either. =P Oops. Then we played Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer Monopoly till we got sick of it. We had some delicious pizza and breadsticks from Classic in Dexter for dinner. Yum! I actually drank full-sugar Mountain Dew, which was crazy, since I so rarely drink non-diet sodas anymore. If I do, it consists of mixing Cherry Coke with Diet Coke, and that’s just ’cause I can’t resist the cherry. =P

Today, I’m meeting Mandy, Carla and Saul in Ann Arbor for lunch. Don’t know what the plan is from there, but should be good times. I’m feeling a little better today, so that makes me infinitely happy. Slight problem? I can’t find my library book. =\ Also, I’m starting to get the nerves up over driving back to Memphis. I think I spent so much time in the routine of going to the gym, helping my mom, seeing people, relaxing and obsessively checking my work e-mail that I forgot to do much of what I was planning to do for myself while home. I still have to gather everything I need to bring back, as well as go through my clothes looking for donations if I have time. Then drive. And drive. And driiiiiiiive. I’m looking forward to getting back to work. Not so much to getting back to my living situation. I have houses to browse now, though, so that’ll be an interesting addition to the next few weeks. Also, speed-dating make-up, potential weekend excursion to Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge, maybe grabbing dinner or seeing a movie with two different OKCupid guys and getting back to the gym down there. Woo! All right, time to shower. Happy New Year, kids!

Leave a comment

Filed under dating, fun, home, plans, recap

Leave a Reply

