white Christmas likely

Last night’s snow definitely made things interesting. One minute, it was clear and the forecast said, “Sometime tonight.” The next, I opened the gym door and stepped out into a mini blizzard. It was very sudden. It didn’t amount to much in the end, but there’s call for more in the coming days, so we’ll see how it pans out…

Today, Carla and I drove up to see Mandy and her new digs. It was so good to hang out with them all day, even just doing the normal stuff like eating pizza, browsing at Meijer and driving around the Lansing area. Mandy and I tried on some semi-ugly, satin, feathered, Christmas-themed lingerie, then tried to scale the dressing room partition to show each other. It was a less-than-successful effort. =P I got some necklace-making supplies at Joann’s and Mandy was nice enough to put them together with a clasp – it looks really awesome, so I’ll have to take a picture and post it sometime. The three of us browsed Babies ‘R’ Us for a long while, thoroughly enjoying the gliders. I also thought the convertible pack ‘n’ plays were pretty freaking sweet. They play music and sounds, and they switch from a changing table and higher-up baby lounging area to a regular pack ‘n’ play underneath. I know it’s weird to say, “I wish I had one,” but it was cool. =) Also, I wish some of my hoodies had bear ears. What’s it to ya? =P

On our way back from Lansing, I tried to figure out what I’m going to do about my housing situation in Memphis. Still no answers though. I feel pretty lame not being able to handle my current accommodations better. I just feel uncomfortable, ill at ease, awkward and guilty about everything I do. I know it’s not possible to live at the office or on the property, but if I could, I would. I feel so much more comfortable there, for some reason. I glanced at some local condos last night online, but I just cringe at the idea of a one-bedroom, 1.5-bath townhouse-style condo costing $160k+. That doesn’t include association fees, I’m sure, and obviously not utilities. However they were calculating the monthly cost, it came out to the mid-$600s, which really isn’t bad. The overall dollar figure still makes me queasy though. I definitely feel the need to save for significantly longer than a couple months before making a leap like that. I still feel better about the idea of landing somewhere mid-range for my first place – nowhere near a huge house – but I’m just not sure how great a buy a condo will be. Renting makes me feel so much less stressed. I don’t know. I hate throwing money away, but I hate not knowing for sure that it’s the right place before I actually get to live there for a while. Bah to adulthood. Bah, I say!

I’ve stayed up way too late the last few nights, so it’s time to hit the hay. I think it’s midnight already, but since I think my laptop is still on Central Time, I’m not entirely sure… Either way, goodnight!

2 Comments

Filed under fun, home, moving, plans, recap, shopping, travel

2 responses to “white Christmas likely

  1. Yes, a white Christmas is a go. Hopefully not a white-out though.
    And wow on the donations today. Seems to have jumped $100 since I looked last night.

  2. e. autumne

    Yeah, it’s been a pretty solid day. I’ll probably end up raising my goal, but I’m not sure yet. Haven’t gotten any blog-based donations yet, so haven’t been able to match anything!

Leave a Reply

