sums it up

This excerpt from dooce pretty much sums up the area where I live:

By the time we were inside we were both drenched from head to toe, and as we walked toward the shopping carts she asked me if she could take off her pants, and I was all, Leta, this is not Bartlett, Tennessee.

The week has been pretty slow thus far. Small victories, slightly larger defeats, nothing particularly exciting to report. I did see a dying doe on the side of the road tonight. I finished the drive home and set off on foot to see if I could do anything to ease her pain. But I couldn’t. I didn’t want to scare her onto her injured legs and across the road again, so I didn’t get too close. Poor baby.

I picked up two pairs of dress shoes from Payless today that I’d ordered through their Web site. Payless is like a godsend for my giant tootsies—as I think I’ve mentioned, they are the only store I know of that offers more than one style of size-12 women’s shoes. Of course, the actual stores down here carry diddly-squat, so I had to rely on the Web. Same diff. First pair of comfortable dress shoes I’ve had in a while, so I’m happy about that.

I’m working my way through season three of “The Office” now. The first disc was just hilarious. I don’t know why, but I’m not as impressed with the current season. The camera work is lending to that lackluster effect—somehow looking slightly different takes away from the comedic value. It’s not as jostly, and I don’t feel like I’m right up in Michael’s face anymore, which was totally part of the humor. I don’t know. Maybe it will get better. Parts of last week’s episode were really good, so I have hope.

It’s been gloomy the last few days so I haven’t been able to compose the photo essay I’d been hoping to of my daily life here in Memphis. I want to get some shots of my lunchtime habits of eating outside and walking around the lake. I think it’ll be fun once I get it together. Also, my exposé on the fake Adobe Photoshop discs. Very exciting stuff. =)

Thursday is date #2 with gym guy #2 (referenced last week). He definitely beats out gym guy #1, that much I know. GG2 asked if I had anything in mind that I wanted to do, but I don’t at this point. Any generic suggestions? I asked RP if there was anything fun to do in the area, anything uniquely Memphis, but all he came up with was bowling and go-karts. ?! Seriously? We’ll see what GG2 suggests, I guess. If nothing else, I just want to get my Jim Halpert fix. Hey, a girl has needs, all right? =)

Other than that stuff, nothing new to speak of. I’ve been working out like a fiend every night, which is good. Tomorrow night is class at Hope and then the gym again, if I’m feeling up to it. Then date Thursday. Then concert at Heartsong (new church) Friday, and maybe the gym again. =P I don’t get out much, okay? Then, dear God, it will be the weekend again… oh, the agony of not having 7-day work weeks.

2 Comments

Filed under animals, dating, exercise, fun, plans, recap, shopping

2 responses to “sums it up

  1. Mandy

    Who gave you the camo thermos?

  2. e. autumne

    I got it as my “free gift” for my DU donation a couple weeks back. It is pretty awesome – I’ll have to take some pictures.

Leave a Reply

