should I be shot?

Update: I gave in to the shot. Now I’m swinging my arm around in circles.

Or rather, vaccinated? I need your opinions. The “Shot Nurse” is coming to the office tomorrow with a truckload of flu vaccine and I’ve gotten about a dozen reminder emails to wear rollable sleeves and, Don’t worry, it’s free! But I’m wondering – should I leave those shots for other people? I haven’t heard anything about shortages the last couple of years, but I remember well when there was one. I look at the list of people who need them – the elderly, children, people of any age with serious health conditions – and it seems like something I should skip in the hopes that a person in one of those categories is able to get vaccinated in my place.

Thoughts? Do you guys get flu shots? If not, do you actually get THE FLU? (I never know if I have a cold or the flu, but the way they talk about it makes me feel like it should always be in all caps and have its own B-grade horror movie.) Also, do you ever find yourself typing “flue” over and over again by mistake?

6 Comments

Filed under health

6 responses to “should I be shot?

  1. Mandy

    I have never received a flu shot (HAHAHA! I just typed flue!). Not really because I am hoping to save it for someone who needs it more (even though that would be a good reason), but because I’ve never really had the flu badly enough that I remembered to seek out a shot the following year.

  2. e. autumne

    Haha, thank you for confirming the mistyping. I’m glad I’m not the only one. Reminds me of “pumpking,” which I do all the time as well. =)

  3. e. autumne

    I was given a thorough tongue lashing by RP this morning for considering not getting a flu shot, so I guess I’ll go through with it… I hate being bullied, of course, but he makes a good point in that it probably wouldn’t reflect well on me to pass up a free shot and then be home sick from work for a week. Apparently I’ve never really had the flu, because his description of its effects was much worse than anything I’ve ever encountered.

  4. Mandy

    I’m pretty sure people get varying degrees of symptoms. But maybe he’s right about it looking bad to have to take a week off work because you wouldn’t accept their free vaccine.

    Also, if you read this RP, stop bullying Emily.

  5. e. autumne

    I’m pretty sure he doesn’t read this, which is probably for the best – even with the use of initials, I doubt he’d be excited that I ever mention him. :P

  6. e. autumne

    Okay, that was supposed to be a tongue face, but it just looks excited about something. So =P

Leave a Reply

