too tired for real post

Late Addition: Yesterday, I finally became a DU member!

Interesting events from the week thus far…

  • Sunday, I had lunch and dinner with the ’80s-era singles from my church, and we went to see “Eagle Eye” in the evening. I very much enjoyed that movie.
  • Monday, I discovered that our company had unknowingly purchased illegitimate copies of Photoshop CS2 from Amazon. It was the most exciting nerd-sleuthing episode of my life! (Pictures to come – maybe.)
  • Monday, I also got an awesomely cheap lunch: hamburger, baked potato with ALL the fixings and a drink for $4.99. I also got the rest of the team to man up and try frozen custard from Sheridan’s.
  • Today, we had our annual all-staff meeting. Even though we faced some hard times this year, we still managed to have a little money in the till that they split up among everyone. Being temporary, my assumption was that I wouldn’t get anything, so I left the meeting and went straight for the free pizza (BBQ pizza makes me want to weep for joy, btw). Little did I know my friend from payroll would stop by later with my check! So freaking exciting. The dollar amount just happens to match the total in my Amazon shopping cart right now, which makes me think I should throw caution to the wind and complete the transaction. A digital camera would be nice… But it does cost more than a sweater, is less easily returned and has been on the docket for the past several years already – that tells you how nervous it makes me. =P

Potential excitement for the rest of the week…

  • New digital camera?
  • The impending arrival of “The Office: Season 3” (gosh, I’m such a spendthrift)
  • Trying to figure out how to cash a check at a bank where I have no account (but my company does)
  • Trying out a different class at church tomorrow night
  • Having the house to myself from Oct. 2-8
2 Comments

Filed under fun, plans, recap, shopping

2 responses to “too tired for real post

  1. Matt the Geek

    You should be able to cash a check at a bank you have no acct at, I used to. There was a small (then) check cashing fee, which is probably bank dependent.

    Which camera are you looking at? Or just ‘a’ camera? Maybe go to Best Buy, or similar, and see what feels good to you. Unless, of course, you’ve already done that.

  2. e. autumne

    Yeah, I’m going to look into the fee situation. I also have a coworker willing to cash it for me if I sign it over to him, so that may work too.

    I’m looking at a Panasonic Lumix TZ5K. My aunt had an older model a couple years ago that my brother and I both liked, particularly the 10x optical zoom. I remember a camera we used back in my high school yearbook days that had 10x zoom, and it was the greatest thing ever. I would really like to get a Canon Rebel XTi or similar, but the price difference is just too big for me right now. I should go see if I can find a Lumix to fiddle with first though.

    Also, I may not end up getting one at all. Like I said, I waffle over big money-related decisions. Maybe I’ll save the extra money, use it for some personal training sessions or donate it back to the company – haven’t decided yet.

Leave a Reply

