energy waning

Forgive me if this comes out jumbled and lackluster – I decided it would be a good idea to get up at 5:30 this morning instead of 6:30, so after a long day at work and a heavy sweat at the gym, I am just about ready to cuddle up under the covers with Transcending CSS.

Today was a good day. I got to work around 6:40 and took a walk around the wetland behind our office. I saw a couple lovely herons, and several sunbathing turtles *bloop*’d into the water when I walked by. I got to the foot bridge on the other side of the building before almost running into a giant spider web strung between trees. So I turned back and got to my car again around 7, just in time to go in and get to breakfast and work. Vanilla yogurt, blueberries, strawberries and granola make for a perfect morning. :) That, and getting an hour of peaceful work time before the commotion starts for the day.

After work, RP and I messed with the Sept. 1 project site, changing out fonts and generally screwing things up. It was fun. :) Then I powered through 45 minutes on the elliptical while reading a 48-page whitepaper about landing pages and conversion rates. Kept me distracted for the majority of my cardio.

I was thinking recently how lucky I am to be able to appreciate the teeny-tiny quirks of the world. There are so many people out there focused on the bigger picture and distracted by the worries of their lives that they miss just how funny, special and important the little things really are. I find myself laughing quietly a lot of the time. And sweet moments can pull me through entire days that would be otherwise trying. As mentioned in the post about The Unbearable Lightness of Being, I really appreciate coincidences in everyday life that make us think something really cool is happening behind the scenes. Even if it’s not, I can still smile when I hear a certain song at just the right moment or get a chill when a memory hits me.

Also, I was reintroduced to Pandora today. RP mentioned it and sent me three of his stations, so now I’m going to use it every day. I forgot just how cool it was. I think I created at least five new stations today. :)

All right, my eyes are getting tired of the glare. I think it’s time for some CSS and slumber. Have a good one, kidlets.

Leave a comment

Filed under health, recap, thoughts

Leave a Reply

