thank you for being a friend

As some of you know, Estelle Getty passed away recently. She played the incorrigible and hilarious Sophia Petrillo on “The Golden Girls.” RIP Estelle – you’ll be missed.

Second reason for today’s subject line is because, in a very fortunate turn of events, I’ve managed to acquire a ride both to and from the Memphis airport for my trip home on Labor Day weekend. I’d been nervous about that aspect of the plan, as I know so few people here and it will be a holiday weekend, but it ended up being much easier than I thought. The new human friend I mentioned in Saturday night’s Twitter tweet offered to take me both ways. I booked the flights today and will be in Michigan from about 1 p.m. on Friday, Aug. 29, until about 7 p.m. on Tuesday, Sept. 2. My mom’s planning a we’re-glad-you’re-home/happy-belated-birthday family get-together for some time that weekend. And I’m hoping to see Mandy & Carla on Monday. Maybe get over to the old office either Friday afternoon or Tuesday morning. Hooray for home!

Minimal news to share aside from that… Kristin and Tina from GLARO paid me a visit this morning and gave me a good laugh over hooking up with “stupid southern boys.” =)

Oh! I do have one story to share that isn’t really mine to tell. I’ve already told a couple people, but it’s just too funny not to spread around some more…

My roommate, Patrick, told me his mom went up to Pennsylvania last weekend to visit family. One of her cousins owns a boa constrictor that she absolutely adores … to the point that it sleeps in her bed! I guess she noticed recently that the snake had stopped eating, and one night, it started to straighten out next to her in bed, getting all rigid. Concerned, she took the snake to the vet the next day, and after examining the boa, the vet told her she either needed to have it put down, or he would have animal control take it from her possession. Apparently, the snake’s actions meant it was sizing her up to eat her! It was seeing whether it was long enough, and making more room by not eating anything else. Creepy, right? Oh, man.

All right, back to work for me. Hope everyone’s having a good week!

Edit: I finally remembered what it was I was planning to post about. My fatness. I am trying so hard to be patient, as I know it took 8+ months at the Chelsea Wellness Center to get in shape last year, and I’ve been going to Anytime Fitness just under 2 months now. I just feel like I’ve been working a lot harder than I did last year. I’m trying to keep in mind that the first time is easiest – that each successive time you try to lose the weight, it’s going to be more difficult. But I also fear that I’m now to that “old” phase where it’s going to be impossible to drop the fat from my belly, the underside of my arms, my butt. It makes me hyperventilate a little, looking at myself in the mirror, trying to suck it in and sit up straight at the office. I know I look better than I did in high school, in college, but I don’t feel like I look good. I have no one to attract or impress, but looking bad makes me feel unhealthy overall and like I’m not doing enough to improve myself. I keep considering cutting beef out of my diet, or at least out of the diet I can control – i.e., I won’t buy it, but if someone grills me a steak, I’m not going to scream and run – but I haven’t taken that step yet. I don’t cook with butter or oil as it is, but I do eat foods that contain more fat than I should be taking in on a daily basis. Even a bagel. Or a pasta dish. I need to figure out a way to cut the fat.

I fear working myself too hard though. I’ve been talking with Patrick (whose undergrad degree is in Exercise Science) about why I’m feeling so fatigued some days at the gym. He suggested two options: 1) Use a different cardio machine, or 2) Go every other day instead of 3 days on, 1 day off, 3 days on (which usually ends up being 2 days on, because I’m too exhausted to do the third). He also suggested eating a piece of fruit or some yogurt a little while before leaving for the gym, so I get a bit of an energy boost without overdoing it. Simple sugars to get me going, keep me from burning off too much of the good stuff I have stored up.

So I need to start implementing those things. The fruit and the cardio switch-up at least. I’m not sure how easy it will be to do the every-other-day schedule, just because my attendance is often based on my energy level, which is affected by things other than working out – not getting enough sleep, not sleeping well, etc. But I do need to get some variety going, so my body doesn’t just start rejecting the work I’m trying to do. I would hate to find out I’ve been wasting time and energy on a workout program that’s not accomplishing nearly as much as it could with a little diversity.

Sigh. Health and wellness are tough. Especially when you’re starting from 0.

Leave a comment

Filed under animals, fun, home, plans, travel

Leave a Reply

