is it a Canadian obsession? or a ‘tween one?

Ever since I remembered “Degrassi: The Next Generation” was on The N, and ever since I regained access to The N, I have been watching it quite a bit. By “quite a bit,” I don’t actually mean all that much, since I spend most of my day at work, then a chunk of 1-3 hours at the gym, but still – a lot of the rest of my day. I remember watching “Degrassi Junior High” and “Degrassi High” on CBC back in the day – WAY back in the day – and the new version doesn’t disappoint. I just watched an overly dramatic episode, but it really shows how the Canadian kids are either over-the-top goody-two-shoes, or they’re total douches. Entertaining, to say the least.

So, how’s everyone doing? It’s been a while. I’m ashamed to say I have little news to share. No life milestones here. =) But I’m happy for others who have crossed them! I, on the other hand, have been working, working out, sleeping and eating. Tomorrow morning is my first installment of dog walking at the Humane Society. Apparently my roommate decided to take a last-minute roadtrip to Destin, Fla., for the weekend, so I’m on my own for a few days. He was supposed to walk pooches, too, so I’ll be one training session up on him. I’m excited to spend time with the doggers!

I’ve been loving my job. I’m stretching my Photoshop muscles, which is fun, if not exactly what I’m supposed to be spending the majority of my time on. But I’m not skimping on the coding either! Overall, my creativity is pretty limited, but I’m doing the best I can with the given space. We have a big initiative starting soon, and while I wish I had had an opportunity to be a part of the planning and development phases, hopefully I’ll be able to shine in the implementation. I’ve also made some suggestions that I think show my desire to be involved and active. I’ll just hope it continues going well. One month down, ?? to go!

My energy levels have fluctuated lately. Seems like I hit rough patches at the same time the past two weeks – somewhere around Tuesday/Wednesday – and I was pretty much unable to do anything for a couple days. I gave my body a break from the gym at those times, but even that and going to bed at 9:30 didn’t seem to help as much as I thought it would. But I’ve been OK the past couple of days, and have been pacing myself at the gym, so I hope to make it through one week on an even keel.

I was pondering the concept of going home sometime. I just don’t know when it’s going to happen. At this point, I am definitely not in the mood to be in the car for 11 hours, and even though I miss everyone back home, the desire to get there is not stronger than my aversion to the trip. Maybe I’ll get over it in July, or my need to see people will overcome it.

All right, back to the Canadian ‘tweens! Have a good weekend, kiddos.

2 Comments

Filed under animals, exercise, health, jobs, plans, recap, travel

2 responses to “is it a Canadian obsession? or a ‘tween one?

  1. Jessica

    Random thought: When Justin went to Florida with his family, he went to Destin. What’s in Destin? Maybe we should go there and find out…=)

  2. e. autumne

    Ha, that’s funny! I’m pretty sure it’s just beautiful and a lot quieter than other parts of Florida. I hear it’s getting a little touristy, but not too bad yet. One of my favorite bloggers has a couple photos of a recent trip here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/dooce/2587317215/

    I would like to go there some day… Pick me up on the way down. :)

Leave a Reply

