on the right track

Oh man, I’m sore. I worked out four nights this week and joined the Anytime Fitness on Friday. Then this morning, Patrick and I made our way to Shelby Farms to hike with the Memphis Hiking Group. We were planning to do the unpaved Tour de Wolf (named after the nearby Wolf River), which is about 6 miles. Well, we discovered it was more like 7 miles, which still wasn’t a problem… until we realized how ridiculously muddy and rutty the trail was from the rain last night and the mountain bikers frequenting it. We were basically bush-whacking half the time, trying not to slip and fall the other. And we saw a cottonmouth! And Patrick got two ticks on his ankles! Crazy. It ended up being just as exciting as the other trip to Shelby Forest (an alternative plan for the hiking group) probably was. With the rain, I bet it was pretty gross there too. Anyway, we hiked at least 5 miles, probably 6 and then headed back toward the visitor’s center. Quite a morning. We were both extremely sore by the end of the trip. And I don’t think our older hiking buddies were even ready to quit yet!

So, I have a pretty bad sunburn and am achy all over, but I feel great about it. We had some great spaghetti and sauteéd zucchini for lunch, and now I’m sipping iced tea, watching Alton Brown on Food Network and doing my second job. I’m trying to decide what to do later. I need to do some laundry, but that could happen tomorrow. I think it would be nice to go for a relaxed walk somewhere or go hang around at an outdoor café, but I wouldn’t know where to do that. I haven’t seen any nice Starbucks or other coffee shops with patios.

I think I’m going to take out the kayak tomorrow, which should be cool. I’m hoping to get up early enough that it’s not blisteringly hot already. I like sun as much as the next girl, but sometimes it’s too much.

All right, back to work. Or something. =P Have a good one!

P.S. I considered writing something more meaningful and/or interesting, but I am too drained to do such a thing right now.

Leave a comment

Filed under exercise, plans, recap

Leave a Reply

