the occasional beauty of OCD

Today is my 60th post in this new blog situation. I think I will give it until 100 before I decide what my next step will be. I love the freedom and the ease with which I can use Blogger. And, honestly, I don’t have much time and energy left over at the end of the day to design something on my own, buy a domain, etc., so this will work for the time being. Hope it isn’t bothering people too much.

Work has been great. I can honestly say this is the first job I’ve ever really, really liked. I liked GLARO enough, but not until the last four months or so. I’m hitting my stride at NHQ, which feels great. I’m definitely not ahead of the curve yet, but I’m ready to learn and excited about what we can do with our Web site in the coming months. Even though all of these thousands of pages exist already, it’s still just getting off the ground in many ways. I’m excited to be a part of that process, to be able to have input in its evolution. I started keeping a list of suggestions as I was surfing the various pages today, so I’ll be adding to that as I go, trying to find ways to show how much I care about this project and how invested I am in its future. I am! For the first time ever, I really am!

I’ve been testing out the local Anytime Fitness for the past three days. I visited that and the Cordova Athletic Club on Monday, and while the latter is more like the Chelsea Wellness Center, I just didn’t like it as much. They both had pros and cons, but in the end, I guess I’m going to be “lazy” and pick the one I’ve been going to for three days, that I know I like. Unfortunately, the coupon I have for a free month expires on Saturday, so if I decided to test out the CAC, I’d have only one day to do it, and that just doesn’t sound that appealing to me. I think I’ll just sign up tomorrow and write the check for $520. =P That sounds terrible to me, but I need this. It’s made me feel so much better (if sore and slightly miserable physically) the past three days, so I know it’s the right thing to do. I’ll just have to keep my other job a little longer…

Otherwise, things have been pretty standard really (movie reference anyone?) – wake, eat, work/eat/work, gym, home, eat, work, sleep, wake. (No kidding, the eating really is that pronounced. =P) I probably won’t get outside much during the week, so I’m looking forward to the weekend, hoping the roommate won’t think to take the kayak out so that I can. Sunday is another hiking meetup at Shelby Farms, so I’ll be doing that, too, maybe with the roommate in tow. Sounds like he’s going to be moving out and over to Mud Island as of the beginning of August. He’s going to get to bring his dog up from home, though, so that’s really good for both of them. He said he’d still consider volunteering at the Humane Society, which we’re both planning to train for on the 21st, so we might still see each other from time to time.

Guess I should get back to work for now. Maybe another post this weekend? We’ll see!

Leave a comment

Filed under exercise, jobs, plans, recap

Leave a Reply

