Why do I watch so much CSI these days?

It is about 7:00 Central Daylight Time.

Today is my second day in Memphis. I arrived in town around 5 p.m. CDT on Sunday, after 12 hours on the road. It was a pretty uneventful trip and I listened to a great audiobook called, “The Night Class.” I hit one 5-minute southern rainstorm in which I couldn’t see and had to follow the distant taillights of the drivers ahead of me. A little scary, but nothing I hadn’t seen before – apparently they have those around 4 p.m. all the time. =P

Work is going pretty well so far. I’ve done an e-newsletter and had a couple meetings already. Apparently I will be attending meetings regularly on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday mornings. One is departmental and the other two are for fund-raising in print and online. I’m not sure I realized just how much fund-raising work would be involved – that’ll be something to get used to, I guess. I am finding I have a pretty good intuition about that sort of thing, though, so that’s good.

My roommate is pretty nice so far. We’ve talked minimally, but he’s quiet and nice, so that’s good enough for me. I can look past the rap music and “South Park.” He made dinner last night, which was nice. I spent most of the evening out and about, finding the mall, picking up some curtains for my landlady, buying a couple dresses for myself and getting groceries. I ended up with already-expired cream cheese, so I have to take that back to the store tomorrow. =P

I’m still feeling uneasy about being here, but at least I’m not crying myself to sleep at night. Yet, anyway. I hate that my boss keeps saying, “In the next year,” because I’m still not sure about those last 9 months. But I’m trying to give it a chance. Considering how busy I’ve been in the past two days, if it keeps on like that, at least I’ll be fully immersed in work and unable to think, “Woe is me,” all the time. I’m thinking about quitting my other job, though, because I haven’t hit my hourly quota for the past three weeks and don’t know if I’ll be able to in the future. If I want to enjoy myself here, get back in shape and be fully focused on why I’m here, I just don’t know if I can keep trying to squeeze in 20 hours per week on this stuff.

All right, I’m going to get back to that very thing now… Have a good week, kiddies!

Leave a comment

Filed under jobs, moving, recap

Leave a Reply

