not tired yet

It’s very late, but since I haven’t run out of juice yet, I’m doing some packing and prepping to move out. I know I’m going to keep failing at waking up early, so why not stay up all night, right? =P I’ve taken apart both dining room tables (one’s been a desk that I used maybe once since moving in…) and stacked the chairs by the sliding door. I’ve packed up the Nintendo and other media, and I’ve sorted all my clothes to figure out what’s going to Memphis and what’s staying home. I still have laundry to do, but it should all be done in time. I’ll probably need to take a load home either tomorrow or Wednesday anyway, so I’ll be able to take some things to wash then, since I’m out of quarters. I also need to find the missing lids for the Rubbermaid containers I moved things in. =P

I got to spend the weekend with Tod, which was great. I mentioned Friday already, but he also came over Saturday after work, despite being sick. We all went to Binder Park Zoo on Sunday and were lucky enough to have beautiful weather the whole time. The line was pretty long when we got there, but it didn’t take too much time to get in. I thought the zoo was pretty laid back and casual in design, which was interesting compared to Detroit and Toledo, which are like, “ZOO!” when you get there. This is more like, “Take a stroll through the swamp… take a tram ride to Africa… feed Triscuits to a giraffe…” There are very few animals, which was a little disappointing, but I liked it more than the GR zoo, so it was OK. We sought out and found Battle Creek’s Clara’s on the River (kin of Clara’s Lansing Station) for dinner after the zoo trip. The food wasn’t particularly impressive, but my burger was pretty good and the river was sort of pretty.

Sunday night, Tod feigned hanging out with guy friends and came over to stay the night. I knew it wouldn’t be easy on him, since he’s sick and neither of us sleep well when we’re sleeping in the same tiny full-sized bed, but in the end we had one of those experiences where one of us sleeps well and the other doesn’t at all. Luckily, he was the one who got the rest. I’m sure the Nyquil helped too. =) I slept in this morning and then we went to Big Boy for brunch, browsed at the mall and saw “Horton Hears a Who.” Such a cute movie. And the anime spoof section? HI-larious. We laughed forever. =) We had Qdoba for dinner, played two games of Munchkin (we each won one) and then I grudgingly let him go home. If I don’t see him beforehand, he said he’d help me move my furniture home on Thursday, so I’m looking forward to that (not the task, but seeing him). I also need to take him out to the Thai restaurant for lunch this week.

I reserved a Budget truck for Thursday’s move. I thought I was going to be able to get away with a 10′ truck, but then I realized there is absolutely no way I could make that happen. Ever. So I went with the 16′, which is only about $10 more to rent (and even worse on gas), and I was able to get a 20% discount with an online coupon, so it shouldn’t run more than $150 total (with gas). Not ideal, but oh well. I needed something to consolidate stuff, since I can’t imagine making 25 trips back and forth with Archie’s pickup truck.

Planning to head out to Memphis on Saturday or early Sunday. Le sigh. Not looking forward to that drive…

Oh, on a sadder (not whiny) note, one of my cousins was killed this week. He was in a motorcycle accident in Indiana – he was speeding, swerved into the opposite lane and collided head-on with a car – and, while he didn’t die right away, they knew he wasn’t going to make it. He was only 28. =( I don’t think I’m going to make the funeral (Wed.), so I hope the family understands. I’m going to e-mail my aunt and uncle to apologize for not being able to come, and offer my support and thoughts. Poor family…

All right, back to work. My energy is waning, so it’s almost time to hit the hay for the night. Hope you all had a great holiday!

Leave a comment

Filed under fun, moving, plans, recap

Leave a Reply

