so much going on, so little to say

My last day at GLARO is Thursday. After a semi-tearful goodbye with Pete and the three Labs last Friday, I can’t imagine how hard it’s going to be to hold back the tsunami on Thursday. I have to keep track of who’s going to be out during the week, too, because I don’t want to miss bidding anyone farewell. Their excuses for going to Memphis are few and far between for most.

I’ve been planning out my days and weeks that remain before my job starts in Memphis. I’m a little concerned that I won’t make the June 2 start date, but I hope they’ll be flexible. My mom and I will be down there May 19-22 to look at housing options. Still need to make the hotel reservation, but we both agreed on the days and my strongest prospect will be available to show me her house those days. I have a couple other places of interest, but nothing quite as promising yet.

Between now and the 19th, I have to finish up at my current job (yikes), get a proper send-off from my coworkers, spend as much time with Tod as I can, go to GR and say goodbye to the folks there, pack up my stuff and do my other job as usual. Phew. AFTER the 19th, I have even more packing to do and a trip to Binder Park Zoo with Tod’s parents. If I end up choosing to live somewhere furnished, I’ll have to rent a U-Haul or Budget truck and move all of my stuff to my mom’s. If not, I’ll have to get everything ready, then rent a truck that will take me all the way to Memphis. I’m getting tired just thinking about it. =P

I’m doing a load of laundry right now because I’m out of clean underwear. My neighbors have been using the machines all day, so this was my first opportunity to get a load in. Our hallway and stairwell smell strongly of paint after three days of work to make it look less ghetto after the flood forced wallpaper removal several weeks ago. Took them long enough. I like a little paint smell, but too much and I develop a headache – I’m there now. =\ Tod came over after work at the library, and we hung out for the evening. He went with me to Meijer for some groceries. My goal was to get raspberries to add to a cake I’m making my mom for Mother’s Day, but the stupid Ann Arbor-Saline Road Meijer didn’t have any – shock! Hopefully there will be some at Zeeb tomorrow. She’ll just have to deal with a lack of surprise on the final steps and presentation.

I’m also trying to bust through as many hours of work as I can this weekend. Last weekend, I managed to get 13 hours done, and even though I know that’s not going to happen this time, the closer I can get, the better off I’ll be. I should be able to focus on it on Monday night, too, but after that, I may be staying late at DU and getting generally stressed about life. =P We’ll see. Since we’ve been permitted to work at least 30 hours, maybe everyone else will grab up all of the reports and there won’t be anything left for me. Wishful thinking…

All right, back to work and grabbing my whites out of the dryer. Hope everyone’s having a good Mother’s Day weekend!

1 Comment

Filed under plans, recap

One response to “so much going on, so little to say

  1. brownbanana

    I don’t want to stress you out even more, so if you don’t have time don’t worry. But I guess I didn’t realize that Pizza Hut was going to be the last time we saw you before you left…maybe if you have some free time we could go get a coffee or something. Let me know!

Leave a Reply

