back to school?

Now that my time at DU is officially drawing to a close, I’ve been thinking more about returning to school. My mind has drifted quite a bit about the subject over the past year in terms of potential programs, colleges, etc., but I can’t get veterinary work out of my mind. I distinctly remember being in elementary school and saying I wanted to go to Michigan State and become a veterinarian. It may have been a short-lived desire (followed by a stronger desire to be an artist – squelched by one of the art teachers at Beach – and then a writer, which has been the one to stick), but I definitely remember it. Anyway, being around animals gives me so much joy. I know I should’ve been volunteering at the Humane Society all these years if I wanted to go into that field, but I haven’t had time to give it my all, which is basically how I do things: all or nothing; there is no in between.

I don’t think I could make it as a full-fledged veterinarian, mostly because vet schools are harder to get in than med schools and I’d have another seven years of school ahead. A two- or four-year vet tech program sounds a lot more doable. And I like the idea of having more time to spend with the animals, which I wouldn’t have as a vet. Their time is spent in surgery and doing the “big” tasks, which means less time to comfort the animals, spend time with them, get to know them – those are the things I want to do. And while I’m qualified to do some of the lower-level jobs at the HS and other shelters, having some background in vet medicine would be helpful, I’m sure.

Obviously, MSU has great vet med and vet tech programs. I’ve scheduled a tentative advising appointment in that department for April 25, just to see how I would need to handle the prereqs and admissions process, being an MSU graduate already. Tod’s cousin Jana is doing some sort of vet program at Eastern, but since I can’t find any mentions of vet tech, my guess is it’s pre-vet, which would work, too, but I’m not planning to go on to be a veterinarian at this point. The other options are places like Baker College, which is fine, but I’m not sure I like the idea as much, especially since I’m going to be down to a part-time work-from-home job, not dealing with a real full-time job that requires I go to school part time and commute from home.

I’m not sure where this will end up going. I also have some job applications in the works, so if one of those happens to pan out first, this may have to get bumped to the back burner for a little while, though the more desirable of the jobs IS for the Humane Society (an editing job out east), so I bet they’d be receptive to the idea of my pursuing further education in that field.

Enough for now. I’m going to try to get through a few more hours of work, then go hang out with Tod for a bit. Fridays are good days. =)

Leave a comment

Filed under education, jobs, plans

Leave a Reply

