tinkerbell with a salt shaker stuck to her butt

After one of the most uneventful days at work, I went over to Nina’s to hang out. I got a voicemail from my landlord saying the electrician had fixed the issue, so all my power’s back on, which fills me with unadulterated joy. Nina showed me her house (it was my first visit), introduced me to her landlords and their dog (a sweet yellow lab named Buddy) and offered to make dinner. We had delicious salads (red lettuce, carrots, bean sprouts, feta and Italian dressing) and leftover ham and potatoes (sweet and wax), and then we chatted while she made gingersnaps. Delicious!

I think I’m going to venture to Hiller’s tomorrow night to get some salad-making supplies of my own. My dad left a bunch of stuff here on Sunday, but most of it is useless to me – particularly cucumber slices and chickpeas – so I’m going to fill in the blanks with my own stuff, then cook up the rest (tomatoes, mushrooms) some other way. Luckily, there’s also a good bit of lettuce and carrots too. I only wish I’d asked to keep the garlic vinaigrette too. Oh, well!

One of things I discussed with Nina is my need to slow down. I think that issue actually shows up in several aspects of my life. The obvious ones are in tasks revolving around food – what’s quickest to prepare? how short a time can I possibly let it cool before eating it? in how few bites can I finish it? I end up eating unhealthy foods and letting produce go bad, burning my mouth over and over and eating much more than I should in one sitting. I also do it with tasks at work, and even though I also try to do a really good job, I know I could invest a longer time in things, rather than thinking that finishing time is the most important thing. In general, I’m also an escapist. When something bad happens, I want to flee the scene immediately. Sometimes, I make mistakes, look like an idiot, get upset, feel disappointed, etc. In those instances, I want to run as far away as I can, as quickly as I can, and try to forget it ever happened. This is an awful way to deal with my problems, but I do it more often than even I realize. And, again, I think it’s because I’m rushing. I think I need to make a snap decision and my instinctual mind says, “Get out of there!,” before I can experience another thought. If I took a moment to breathe and think things through, I might not choose to run. Other things… taking time to chat with people, not always being worried about staying on a schedule, not feeling like my whole life has been ruined by not taking “full advantage” of a free afternoon, etc. I watch people who eat slowly and put down their other tasks to have conversations – I just can’t imagine doing that! The world around me seems so fast paced, and I don’t feel comfortable being any different, pausing for even a few moments. And even though I thrive on the “little things,” I bet I miss half of them by rushing around like I do. So, my goal is to try to take things slower. I’m on a mission.

Also, my apartment smells like hyacinths. It’s AMAZING! =D

1 Comment

Filed under fun, lessons, recap

One response to “tinkerbell with a salt shaker stuck to her butt

  1. Jenny

    You should go to Europe for a while. They don’t rush at all. Half of the time they’ll leave work to go to lunch and decide they don’t feel like going back and they relax all afternoon at home. Plus, it takes them like three hours to eat a meal. It seems completely impractical, but it takes a hold of you when you’re there.

    Also, I have a recipe for hummus if you were looking for something to do with the chickpeas, but unfortunately, tahini (a paste that you need for it) only comes in GIGANTIC jars. I’ll have to show you my jar of it when you’re up next. It’s ridiculous.

    Sorry…way too long of a comment!

Leave a Reply

